Call for Nominations: 2009 Waldo Gifford Leland Award

Have you read a great new book about archives? Have you come across an exceptional finding aid for a newly-processed archival or manuscript collection? Have you encountered a documentary publication that is head and shoulders above the rest? Has a web publication really stood out to you?

If you have, please consider nominating it for the Waldo Gifford Leland Award.

The annual Leland Award – a cash prize and certificate – encourages and rewards “writing of superior excellence and usefulness in the field of archival history, theory, and practice.” The Leland Award subcommittee of the Society of American Archivists invites you to nominate a monograph, finding aid, or documentary publication published in North America in 2008 for this year’s recognition. (Please note: periodicals are not eligible.) Established in 1959, the award honors American archival pioneer Waldo Gifford Leland, president of the Society of American Archivists in the 1940s and one of the driving forces behind the founding of the National Archives.

Nomination forms, a list of previous winners, and more information is at The deadline for applications is February 28, 2009.

Please help us to recognize the best in our profession!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s